Medal of Honor Society Names Fisher House Foundation as One of its 2017 Citizen Honors Award Winners

March 2, 2017

The Congressional Medal of Honor Society selected military non-profit, Fisher House Foundation as one of its 2017 Citizen Honors Award winners to recognize US citizens and community organizations for their acts of courage and selfless service that epitomize the American spirit. 

“This award recognizes and celebrates the exceptional deeds that Fisher House Foundation performs every day in communities across our Nation,” said Thomas G. Kelley, Medal of Honor recipient and president of the Congressional Medal of Honor Society.

 Fisher House Foundation has long had a partnership with the Medal of Honor Society.  When each Fisher House is built, the Society presents a special plaque to hang in the home.  These plaques are typically presented during the dedication ceremonies by Medal of Honor Recipients.  On the plaque are the solemn words:

“Dedicated to Zachary and Elizabeth Fisher for the unselfish commitment to improve the quality of life to the members of our Armed Forces and our Nation’s veterans and families by providing a ‘Home Away From Home’ for those who are serving and have served.”

 “I have nothing but utmost respect and thanks to each and every member of the Medal of Honor Society,” said Ken Fisher, Chairman and CEO of Fisher House Foundation.  “It’s an honor for our Foundation to be recognized by such an esteemed group of our Nation’s heroes.  I commit to you and to all our military, veterans and their families, that Fisher House Foundation will continue to be there to support their needs—be it a WWII veteran or a 19-year-old service member.  All have earned our deepest respect and thanks.”

The award will be presented on March 25 at Joint Base Myer-Henderson Hall in Arlington, VA. 

 “Our 2017 winners embody the spirit of the Medal of Honor and represent the highest levels of service and heroism,” said Kelley.  “They’ve earned this award through their courage, selfless service or commitment to our Nation’s military service members and families.”


Other Recipients include:

  • Jacob Ellis of Columbia, Missouri and Adam Brunk of Holts Summit, Missouri, were selected for their courageous act on August 21, 2016, when they rescued two people injured in a traffic accident. Ellis and Brunk freed the accident victims just before their car was engulfed in fire.
  • Molly Hudgens of Ashland City, Tennessee, was selected for her courageous act on September 29, 2016, when she prevented a 14-year old middle school student from shooting teachers and administrators at Sycamore Middle School. Hudgens spoke with the student for 45 minutes until he agreed to surrender. No shots were fired during the incident.
  • Travis Ellis of Senoia, Georgia, was selected for his selfless service in support of veterans through his work with Shepherd's Men, a nonprofit organization that raises awareness and funds to support post-traumatic stress and traumatic brain injuries among service members. Ellis' efforts support the patients at the SHARE Military Initiative at Shepherd Center, a PTS and TBI rehab program.
  • Katelyn Ibarra of Steamboat Springs, Colorado, was selected for her heroism in assisting several citizens injured in a traffic accident. Before emergency medical professionals arrived, Ibarra provided critical first-aid assistance and removed injured passengers from the immediate accident scene. Ibarra was trained in first aid through the Girl Scouts of Colorado.